TexasBackupPower

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Power Station Run Time: Half vs Full Load

Short answer: Run time on a power station listing is not a fixed number. The same station lasts longer with a light load and shorter with a heavy load, which is why listings and maker pages often show two figures, one for a half load and one for a full load. The watt-hour capacity tells you how much energy the battery stores, and the AC output tells you the maximum power it can supply. To estimate real-world hours for Texas essentials, read both numbers on the listing and the stated run time figures on the maker's page.

Run Time on a Power Station Listing

Run time is how long a power station can keep supplying power before its battery needs recharging. On a listing, run time is not a single number. A station that holds a fixed amount of energy lasts longer when the load is light and less long when the load is heavy. That is why you will often see two figures: one for a half load and one for a full load. The half-load figure is the longer of the two; the full-load figure is the shorter one.

The listing title for a power station gives you the two numbers that matter most: the battery capacity in watt-hours and the AC output in watts. Run time figures, when they appear, are usually on the product page rather than in the title. When the seller does not state them, treat them as a missing detail and read the maker's page.

Why Manufacturers List Two Figures

A maker cannot give one honest run time figure, because run time changes with the load. By listing a half-load figure and a full-load figure, the maker brackets the range a buyer can expect. A light load, meaning a few small devices drawing a small fraction of the station's output, lands near the half-load figure. A heavy load, meaning something drawing close to the maximum output, lands near the full-load figure. The gap between the two tells you how sensitive the station is to the load.

Some listings phrase the figures as "rated" and "maximum" or label them "half load" and "full load." The exact label varies by seller, but the principle is the same: the higher the draw, the shorter the time between charges.

Watt-Hours and Watts: The Two Numbers That Set Run Time

Electricity is measured in units of power called watts, and the energy used over time is measured in watt-hours, as the U.S. Energy Information Administration explains on its measuring electricity page. A power station's battery stores energy in watt-hours, while its inverter delivers that energy as AC output in watts. The output rating tells you how much power the station can supply at once, and the capacity tells you how much energy it holds. Together they determine run time: the higher the output you draw, the faster the stored energy is used. For more on how capacity and output differ, see watt-hours versus amp-hours and battery capacity versus power.

For context, the EIA reports that the average U.S. household uses about 10,500 kilowatt-hours of electricity per year. A portable power station holds a small fraction of that. It is built for essentials, not for the full energy use of a house measured in kilowatt-hours.

Estimating Real-World Hours for Texas Essentials

For a Texas home preparing before winter storms or summer heat, the essentials you plan to connect decide the load. Devices that cycle on and off draw power in bursts; when a compressor or motor starts, the draw is higher, and between cycles the draw is lower. The average load is usually below the peak, so real-world hours fall somewhere between the stated full-load and half-load figures. See matching a station to the loads you plan and choosing a station for Texas essentials for a broader view.

This site does not measure run time. To estimate your own hours, read the capacity and output on the listing, then look for the run time figures the maker states for specific loads on the product page or in the manual. If the answer is not stated, ask the maker. TexasReady and the Texas Division of Emergency Management both tell households to make a plan and build a kit before a storm. Writing down which essentials you will connect, and in what order, is part of that plan; the run time figures on the listing help you see whether the station matches it.

Checking the Listing and the Maker's Page

Before you buy, read the listing for the capacity in watt-hours and the AC output in watts. Check whether the seller states a half-load and a full-load run time figure, and whether the station accepts an expansion battery, because adding capacity changes the run time at the same load.

What to read on a listing:

the capacity in watt-hours;

the AC output in watts;

any stated half-load and full-load run time figures;

whether an expansion battery is available;

whether the title bundles a solar panel or other items.

When a detail is missing from the listing, read the maker's page. The maker is the source for stated figures, and the manual describes how the station is meant to be used.

Half Load, Full Load, and Your Texas Home

Use the two figures as a bracket for your situation. If you plan to run a few small essentials on a light load, the half-load figure is the closer guide. If you expect to draw a large share of the station's output, plan on the full-load figure. A station with a larger capacity gives more room between those figures. Compare home backup power stations and the wider backup power options for Texas to see how a station fits your plan.

For whole-house backup, a power station covers a different job than a whole house generator installed by an electrician. If your goal is to keep a few essentials running through an outage, the half-load and full-load figures on the listing tell you what to expect; if your goal is the whole house, a standby generator listing is the one to read.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You will run only a few small essentials on a light loadA smaller station; the half-load figure is the closer guideBest Power Stations for Texas Home Essentials in 2026: 11 Picks
You expect to draw a large share of the station's outputA larger capacity station; the full-load figure is the honest estimateBest Home Backup Power Stations for Texas 2026: 15 Picks
Your Texas home needs whole-house backup, not just essentialsA standby generator listingBest Whole House Generator for Texas in 2026: 10 Picks
You want a first power station on a tight budgetA station from the budget guideBest Portable Power Stations Under $500 for Texas 2026
You need fast switchover for a router and small electronicsA station with UPS modeBest UPS Power Stations for Texas Homes 2026: 12 Picks

Questions

Why do power station listings show two run time figures?

Run time depends on the load. A half-load figure is the longer estimate for a light draw, and a full-load figure is the shorter estimate for a heavy draw. Together they bracket the range you can expect for a fixed battery capacity.

Which run time figure should I plan around?

Plan around the figure that matches your expected load. If you will run a few small essentials, the half-load figure is the closer guide. If you expect to draw a large share of the station's output, use the full-load figure.

Does a bigger watt-hour capacity always give a longer run time?

At the same load, a larger capacity holds more energy and lasts longer in principle. The load you draw decides how fast that energy is used. Read the capacity and the stated run time figures on the maker's page.

Do appliances that cycle on and off change real-world run time?

Yes. A device that cycles, such as a refrigerator compressor, draws power in bursts. The average draw is usually lower than the peak draw, so real hours sit between the stated figures. The maker's page is the place to read stated run time for particular loads.

What should I check on a listing before I buy?

Read the capacity in watt-hours, the AC output in watts, any stated half-load and full-load run time figures, and whether an expansion battery is available. When a detail is missing, read the maker's page.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides