TexasBackupPower

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Continuous vs Peak Watts on Power Stations

Short answer: Power station listings usually give two watt figures: the continuous AC output, which the station can supply over time, and the peak output, a short surge for the moment an appliance starts. Your appliances decide how much you need, so compare both figures on the listing and ask the maker or an electrician.

Continuous vs peak wattage on a listing

A portable power station listing in the texasbackuppower.org catalogue states the station's AC output in watts (W). That figure is the continuous output: the amount of power the station's inverter can supply on an ongoing basis while devices are plugged into its AC outlets.

Some listings also state a peak figure, sometimes called the surge output. That is the higher wattage the station can deliver for a short moment before settling back to the continuous figure. The two numbers answer different questions: one says what the station can keep doing, the other says what it can handle briefly.

Watts measure power, which is the rate at which electricity is used, as the U.S. Energy Information Administration explains on its measuring electricity page. Neither figure tells you how long the station will run; that depends on the battery capacity in watt-hours, a separate number. Read more about that difference in power station watt-hours vs amp-hours.

The site's buying guides for power stations are organized around the stated details in the catalogue, not around measured performance. Use the guides to compare the continuous and peak figures across models before you shop.

Why some appliances draw more at start

Many household appliances with motors, compressors or pumps, such as a refrigerator, a window air conditioner or a well pump, draw more power in the first moments after they start than they do while running steadily. That opening moment is the surge, and it usually lasts only seconds.

The peak figure on a power station listing exists for that surge. When you compare listings, the peak figure tells you whether the station can cover the starting moment of the appliances you want to plug in. This site does not give appliance wattage numbers, so read the starting requirement on the appliance itself and ask the maker or an electrician how that requirement compares with the station's peak figure.

How to read the two figures on a listing

A listing may show only one AC output figure, or it may show the continuous figure and a separate peak figure. If the listing does not state a peak figure, the seller has not stated it; do not assume a number. Read the maker's page for the details.

  • Look for a separate peak figure in the title or the bullet list.
  • Look for the continuous figure next to the watt-hour figure so you can compare power and capacity together.
  • Look for a surge duration in seconds on the maker's page if the listing does not give one.
Listing terms for power output
Listing termWhat it means
AC outputThe continuous watts the station can supply to its AC outlets over time.
Peak outputThe higher watts the station can deliver for a short surge when an appliance starts.
Surge ratingAnother name for the peak figure; some sellers use it to point to the starting moment.

Watts vs watt-hours

Wattage and watt-hours are two different measures on a power station listing. Watts, explained on the U.S. Energy Information Administration's measuring electricity page, describe the rate of power at any moment; the continuous figure and the peak figure are both watts. Watt-hours describe the amount of energy the battery stores.

A station with a high continuous output is not the same as a station with a large battery capacity. The two figures are independent. If you are comparing a few units, look at the continuous figure for power and the watt-hour figure for capacity, then read the maker's page for how long the station can sustain that output.

The distinction also shapes the buying guides on this site. A guide for home backup power stations puts the stated continuous figure up front, while a guide for essential power balances that figure against the watt-hour capacity.

When the peak figure matters

In a Texas home, the peak figure matters most when you plan to start appliances with motors one at a time during an outage, before winter storm season or summer heat arrives. The continuous figure matters for the devices you keep on steadily, such as lights, a router or a refrigerator.

The site does not size a home or promise that a station will run an appliance. Instead, check the listing's stated figures, read the appliance's own starting requirement, and confirm the details with the maker. For a clearer view of your home's needs, an electrician can look at your circuit loads. Surge capacity for a refrigerator and surge rating duration are separate questions on this site, covered in surge capacity for a refrigerator and surge rating duration.

Texas homeowners compare backup power before winter storm season and before summer heat. That timing is about planning, not about weather data; the listing figures do not change. What changes is how many appliances you expect to plug in at once. For what to do before winter weather, the Texas Division of Emergency Management, Texas Ready, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's winter weather page are the places to start.

Questions for the maker and an electrician

These questions are reading and planning steps. The maker's manual and the maker's support line are the only sources for the station's behaviour, and a licensed electrician is the person to ask about your home's circuit loads and wiring.

  • Does the listing state a continuous AC output and a separate peak figure?
  • How long can the station sustain its continuous output before the battery needs recharging? Read the maker's page.
  • How long can the station hold its peak figure? Some listings state a surge duration in seconds.
  • Which of your appliances state a starting surge, and what does each one require? Confirm with the maker or an electrician.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want a station that keeps essentials on steadily during a winter storm outageA station with a clear continuous AC output figureBest Power Stations for Texas Home Essentials in 2026: 11 Picks
You want home backup as the largest priority of the purchaseA home backup station with a high continuous outputBest Home Backup Power Stations for Texas 2026: 15 Picks
You need UPS mode for a home office or routerA station that lists UPS modeBest UPS Power Stations for Texas Homes 2026: 12 Picks
You prefer a specific brand catalogue, like EcoFlow or BLUETTIA station from that brand's listingsBest EcoFlow Power Stations for Texas in 2026: 15 Picks
You are budget-planning before storm seasonA station within your price windowBest Portable Power Stations Under $500 for Texas 2026

Questions

What is continuous wattage on a power station?

Continuous wattage is the AC output the station can supply over time while devices stay plugged in. It is the watts figure the listing shows for steady use, and it is what you compare for the devices you keep on.

What is peak wattage?

Peak wattage, sometimes called surge output, is the higher watts the station can deliver for a short moment. Many appliances with motors draw more power in the first seconds after they start, and the peak figure points to that starting moment.

Which figure should I compare first?

Compare the continuous figure first for anything you run steadily, then the peak figure for appliances that start with a surge. If the listing does not state a peak figure, ask the maker rather than assuming one.

Does a higher peak figure mean the station runs longer?

No. Peak wattage and battery capacity are separate. The watt-hours figure describes how much energy the battery stores, while the peak figure describes the power at one moment. Read the maker's page for run time.

How do I choose between two stations with different figures?

Compare the stated continuous and peak figures, read the maker's page, and ask an electrician what your home's appliances require. The site does not give appliance wattage numbers.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides