Firmware Updates: How to Keep It Current
Short answer: A firmware update is a software update delivered through the maker's app. Keep it current by installing updates when the app prompts you, before storm season. Look for app control, Bluetooth, or WiFi on the listing, and read the maker's page for the update procedure.
What a firmware update is
A firmware update is a software update for the power station's internal control system. On a listing, you may see app control, Bluetooth, or WiFi as stated features. That is how the maker delivers firmware updates. The maker's app checks the current version and offers an update when one is released.
A power station listing can say 'app control' without stating how often updates arrive. The update frequency is not a listing detail; it is a question for the maker. Read the maker's page for the app name and the update procedure. A listing may also call a unit a 'solar generator'; that is a seller word for a power station with a solar panel included, not a separate category. The update procedure is the same.
The term 'app control' on a listing means the unit connects to the maker's app over Bluetooth or WiFi. The app is also the tool for firmware updates. For more on that connection, see app monitoring and control.
Why firmware updates matter
A firmware update changes how the unit operates. It can adjust how the unit charges from solar input, how the display reports state of charge, or how the UPS mode switches to battery. Keeping the software current means the unit behaves as the maker describes in the manual.
The listing states features such as UPS mode, expandable batteries, and solar input. A firmware update is the maker's way of adjusting those features after the unit ships. An update does not promise that a fault is fixed; contact the maker for a unit that is not behaving as listed.
Update notices appear in the maker's app and on the maker's page. A listing does not show a release schedule. Plan to check for updates as part of a routine inspection before winter storm season and before summer.
How to keep the firmware current
Open the maker's app and let it check the current version. The app will show the installed version and offer an update when one is available. The listing shows app control, Bluetooth, or WiFi; that tells you the unit connects to the app.
- Check the listing for app control, Bluetooth, or WiFi.
- Read the maker's page for the app name and update steps.
- Contact the maker for firmware questions, including which smartphone or computer systems the app supports.
- Before storm season, open the app and run the update check as part of a routine inspection of the unit's stated details.
Before storm season in Texas
Texas homeowners prepare before winter storm season and summer heat. A firmware update is one item in a routine check: charge the unit, confirm the display, and open the app for updates. The Texas Division of Emergency Management and Texas Ready pages list general preparedness steps; they do not cover firmware, but they are the place to start for a family plan.
The update check is not a substitute for the rest of the plan. Keep a list of the unit's stated details, such as battery capacity in watt-hours and AC output in watts, and compare them with the maker's page if the listing is missing a detail. For the full set of backup power options, see best backup power for Texas.
Firmware and your preparedness plan
A firmware update is one item on a routine readiness list. Along with confirming the battery is charged and the unit turns on, open the app and check for an update. The Texas Division of Emergency Management and Texas Ready pages describe wider steps for winter storms and extreme heat, but they do not cover firmware. Use them as the start of a family plan, then read the maker's page for the update procedure.
The update itself does not replace checking the unit's stated details, such as the battery capacity in watt-hours or the AC output in watts. For a full comparison of those details, see the best backup power for Texas guide.
What a listing does and doesn't tell you
A listing may say 'app control' but not state the update policy. It may also be a renamed or bundled listing. The maker's page is the source for the current software and the update procedure. 'Not stated by the seller' is a phrase you may see; use it as a note to read the maker's manual.
When you compare 2 listings, the stated details that matter for an update are the connectivity words: app control, Bluetooth, and WiFi. The battery capacity and AC output figures do not change with an update. For comparisons of those figures, see best home backup power stations.
Updates and the app ecosystem
Brands such as EcoFlow, BLUETTI, Anker SOLIX, and Jackery name their apps on their product pages. A listing may name the brand but not the app. The app is where the maker publishes update notices. If you buy a unit from a previous generation, the maker's page will list the supported app version and any update notes.
The site's buying guides compare stated details such as battery capacity in watt-hours, AC output in watts, and whether the listing states an expandable battery. An update does not change the stated capacity; it changes the software that controls how the unit uses that capacity. Read the maker's manual for the update procedure. For brand-specific guides, see best EcoFlow power stations and best BLUETTI power stations.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You want a unit whose software you can update through an app | A power station listing that states app control, Bluetooth, or WiFi | Best Home Backup Power Stations for Texas 2026: 15 Picks |
| You prefer a brand with an established app | An EcoFlow or Anker SOLIX listing | Best EcoFlow Power Stations for Texas in 2026: 15 Picks |
| You need a unit for essentials only | A 1,000Wh-class power station | Best Power Stations for Texas Home Essentials in 2026: 11 Picks |
| You want a station with UPS mode for sensitive equipment | A listing that states UPS mode | Best UPS Power Stations for Texas Homes 2026: 12 Picks |
Questions
How do I know if a power station has firmware updates?
Look for app control, Bluetooth, or WiFi on the listing. The maker's app is where updates appear. If the listing has none of those words, read the maker's page for update options.
Do I need an app to use a power station?
No. The unit works without the app, but the app is how the maker delivers firmware updates.
How often should I check for updates?
Check when you prepare for storm season, and any time the maker's app shows an update available.
Can I update the firmware without a smartphone?
Some makers offer updates through a computer. Read the maker's page, since the listing will not state that.
What does 'app control' mean on a listing?
It means the unit connects to the maker's app over Bluetooth or WiFi. The app is also the tool for firmware updates.
Is a firmware update the same as a battery calibration?
No. Battery calibration is a separate procedure in the manual. An update may include a calibration change, but the manual describes how to calibrate the display.
Do firmware updates cost money?
The listing does not state a price for updates. Updates are delivered through the maker's app; read the maker's page for any terms.
Recent updates
- : First published.