TexasBackupPower

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Sizing for Texas Winter Heating: Furnaces and Heat Pumps

Short answer: Generator listings state starting watts and running watts for electric furnaces, heat pumps, and space heaters. This site does not size a home's heating need, and no listing figure promises that a unit covers a furnace, a heat pump, or a space heater. Read the listed watt figures, compare models, and confirm sizing with the generator maker and a licensed electrician.

What a Listing Says About Watt Figures

A generator listing shows watt figures as the seller states them. The first figure is often the starting watts, the momentary draw a motor needs when it starts; the second figure, when a listing gives one, is the running watts, what the generator supplies steadily. The running watts vs starting watts article explains both figures in depth, and the EIA explains that electricity is measured in units of power called watts.

For electric furnaces, heat pumps, and space heaters, the same two figures appear on each appliance's nameplate and in the appliance maker's documentation. A generator listing does not state which of your heating appliances the unit will cover.

  • Starting watts and running watts are listing terms, not promises about a furnace or a heat pump.
  • A title with multiple watt figures usually states starting watts first; the maker's page states which figure a model carries.
  • This site gives no appliance wattage, no runtime, and no fuel-use figures.

Electric Furnaces, Heat Pumps, and Space Heaters on a Listing

Electric furnaces, heat pumps, and space heaters draw electric power to produce heat. A listing does not name them as appliances the unit is intended to run. 'Home Backup' or 'Whole House' in a title is the seller's phrase, not a statement that the unit starts a furnace or a heat pump.

A heat pump and an electric furnace have different starting behavior, and a space heater draws steadily. The generator maker and the heating appliance maker are the ones who can state what each model is able to supply. This site cannot say that one watt figure covers one appliance or another.

What a buyer can do is collect the watt figures that each heating appliance states and ask the generator maker and a licensed electrician whether a listed model matches them.

Why This Site Does Not Size a Home

The listings on this site show what a seller states. They do not show measured output, runtime, or fuel use, and the site does not compute a home's heating needs. Sizing a generator for an electric furnace, a heat pump, or a space heater is a question for the maker and a licensed electrician, who can read the appliance nameplate and the home's setup.

Before winter storm season, a buyer can prepare by reading the listing's stated figures, comparing models in one watt group, and keeping the maker's contact information. The wattage calculator article describes how to read the numbers a listing states. A seller cannot state figures the unit does not carry.

A licensed electrician, the generator maker, and the local permit office decide how a generator connects to a home.

Listing Features to Read for Winter Storms

Winter storm shopping means reading features that matter when the home loses heat. Electric start and remote start appear as listing words; the electric start vs recoil start article and the electric start guide explain them.

A CO sensor and shutoff are listing words; the CO shutoff guide reads them as seller statements. Follow the maker's manual and read the CPSC and CDC carbon monoxide pages before using any generator.

Outlet names such as RV ready and 30-amp or 50-amp appear on a listing; the outlets and plug types article explains them. An hour meter and a fuel gauge are listed items; the maker's manual describes how to read them.

Winter Heating Backup for Your Texas Situation

A buyer preparing before winter storm season can start from an essentials list: compare the mid-size generator guide, then ask the maker and an electrician about the heating appliances in the home.

A rural home with heat and a well on the same outage: this site does not combine their draws. Ask the maker and a licensed electrician to read both appliances. The rural Texas guide covers large portable models.

Whole house backup means an installed standby unit, and an electrician handles the connection; the whole house generator guide explains what standby involves. For essentials only, the backup power guide offers smaller options.

The Texas Division of Emergency Management and Texas Ready pages list preparation steps for winter storms, and the CDC's winter storm page advises having your furnace and vent checked each winter by a qualified technician.

Comparing Two Listings on Stated Details

Two listings for similar models may state different watt figures, different start methods, and different outlet names. Compare only what each listing states: the watt group, the start feature, the fuel type, and the CO sensor wording. The fuel type guide covers the fuel options a listing names.

A listing may not state a detail, such as whether the starter battery is included. That absence is part of the comparison: read the maker's page for the missing item, or ask the seller before buying.

No listing on this site states measured output, runtime, or fuel use. The maker's page and the owner's manual are the places to read those, and a licensed electrician answers connection questions.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You heat with electric resistance and want essentials onlyA mid-size portable generator listingBest Generator for Texas Home Essentials in 2026: 12 Picks
You want a unit an electrician installs for the whole houseA standby listingBest Whole House Generator for Texas in 2026: 10 Picks
You want a button-start portable in a winter stormAn electric start portable listingBest Electric Start Generators for Texas Winter Storms (2026)
You want a CO sensor and shutoff on the listingA CO shutoff listingBest Generators with CO Shutoff for Texas in 2026
You live rural and may draw heat beside a well pumpA large portable listing, confirmed with the maker and an electricianBest Generators for Rural Texas Homes in 2026: 10 Picks
You live in a close neighborhoodAn inverter portable listingBest Inverter Generators for Texas Neighborhoods in 2026: 15 Picks

Questions

What does the first watt figure on a generator listing mean?

The first figure is often the starting watts, the momentary draw a motor needs to start; the second figure, when listed, is the running watts. Read the maker's page to confirm which figure a model states. The running watts vs starting watts article explains both.

Can this site tell me which generator runs my electric furnace?

No. This site does not size a home or an appliance. Ask the generator maker and a licensed electrician to read the furnace nameplate and confirm a model before you buy.

Is a heat pump different from an electric furnace on a listing?

A listing does not state which heating type a generator covers. Heat pumps and electric furnaces are heating appliances; their watt figures come from the appliance maker. This site does not promise that a model covers either type.

What features should I read for winter storms?

Electric start, remote start, a CO sensor and shutoff, and the outlet names on the listing. Follow the maker's manual and read the CPSC and CDC carbon monoxide pages; a licensed electrician decides how a unit connects to a home.

Where can I find preparation guidance?

The Texas Division of Emergency Management and Texas Ready pages list winter storm preparation steps. The CDC's winter storm page advises having your furnace and vent checked each winter by a qualified technician.

Should I buy before winter storm season?

Many Texas households shop before winter storm season so a unit is on hand when the power leaves. Read the listing's stated figures, compare models, and confirm sizing with the maker and an electrician before you order.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides