TexasBackupPower

When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Sizing for Texas Summer Peak Load: AC and More

Short answer: Summer peak load in Texas usually comes down to air conditioning plus the other large appliances a home runs at the same time. A generator listing states watts in the title and on the maker's page, with the first figure often the starting watts. The site does not size a home: which AC or appliances a generator can run depends on the maker's stated figures and a licensed electrician's review of the home's wiring. Read the listing, check the maker's page, then pick a guide by your situation.

Summer peak load in listing terms

Summer peak load is the moment a Texas home asks for the most electricity at once: air conditioning starting, a refrigerator cycling on, and other large appliances running together. On a generator listing, that demand appears as watts figures. The U.S. Energy Information Administration explains that electricity is measured in watts and that a home's yearly use is measured in kilowatthours; the agency reports that the average U.S. household consumes about 10,500 kilowatthours per year, with use varying widely by region and home type.

Air conditioning is usually the first load a Texas buyer names in summer, but it is not the only one. A refrigerator, a freezer, a well pump on a rural property and electronics all draw at the same time. A listing cannot tell which of those a unit will run; it can only state the watts.

The catalogue here lists each generator by type, fuel, the first watts figure grouped, electric start, RV ready, CO sensor and brand. That first watts figure is usually the starting figure, the higher one. The maker's page usually adds a second figure, the running watts, and the 2 measurements are different.

What a listing does not state, the seller has not stated. If the running watts figure is missing from the title, read the maker's page; if the maker does not list it, ask the maker directly before comparing units.

Starting watts and running watts as listing words

Starting watts, also called peak or surge watts, is the seller's phrase for the momentary higher draw a motor needs at the instant it starts. Running watts is the seller's phrase for the steady draw once the appliance is moving. Air conditioning and refrigeration motors are the example most Texas buyers meet first: the start moment draws more than the running moment. The starting and running watts article explains the pair in listing terms.

When 2 watts figures appear in a title, the first is usually the starting figure and the second the running figure. The site's watts groups sort listings by that first figure as a shopping convenience, not as a sizing promise.

Reading a listing before summer

For a summer backup purchase, read the listing for the watts figure, the fuel type, electric start, and whether the unit is an inverter or an open-frame type. An inverter listing is the type buyers in a close subdivision usually ask about first; the inverter versus portable article explains the type as a listing word.

Electric start on a listing means the unit starts by push button or key rather than a pull cord; the electric start article covers the term. Standby listings use the words air cooled, liquid cooled and kW, and the question of how a standby unit is installed belongs to a licensed electrician and the local permit office.

  • Details to read on the maker's page: the running watts figure, the fuel types the unit accepts, the starter battery on an electric-start model, and the outlet names such as RV ready.

Why this site does not size a home

The question of whether a generator can run a central air conditioner is not answered by a catalogue listing. The maker's stated figures and a licensed electrician's review of the home's wiring decide which AC, well pump or appliance a unit can run. This site publishes no appliance wattage worksheet, no runtime hours and no promise that a unit runs a whole house.

A transfer switch is a term that appears on standby listings; the standby versus portable article explains the 2 types as shopping words. Installation and wiring are for a licensed electrician, the maker and the local permit office to decide.

Sizing questions such as what size fits a particular house are for the maker's stated figures and an electrician. The site's guides sort listings by watts groups so a buyer can compare stated details side by side on the catalogue.

Summer shopping situations

The right guide depends on the home situation, not on a single wattage number.

Before the season

Texas emergency pages are the place to plan a household before storm season, not a generator listing. The Texas Division of Emergency Management and Texas Ready publish all-hazards preparedness tips for Texans. The National Weather Service heat safety page explains who is most vulnerable to heat and why heat is taxing on the body. Use those pages to plan, then use the listings to shop.

Reading the listing is a habit in 2 steps: check the title's first watts figure, then confirm the running figure and fuel type on the maker's page. If a detail is missing on the listing, treat it as not stated by the seller. A missing figure is a question for the maker, not a reason to guess.

What to pick for your situation

If youPickBuying guide
You want an inverter unit for a close neighborhoodCompare inverter listings by watts groupBest Inverter Generators for Texas Neighborhoods in 2026: 15 Picks
You want a large inverter for summer AC loadsRead the large inverter guideBest Generator for Texas Summer Heat 2026: 8 Picks
You live in a rural home or on a wellStart with the rural portable guideBest Generators for Rural Texas Homes in 2026: 10 Picks
You only need essentialsUse the mid-size essentials guideBest Generator for Texas Home Essentials in 2026: 12 Picks
You want a standby unit for the whole houseRead the standby guideBest Whole House Generator for Texas in 2026: 10 Picks
You are deciding whole house versus essentialsStart with the Texas backup overviewBest Backup Power for Texas (2026): 12 Picks

Questions

Can a generator run a central air conditioner?

The maker's stated running watts figure and a licensed electrician's review decide it. This site gives no appliance wattage figures and no sizing promise.

What does the first watts figure in a title mean?

Usually the starting watts figure, also called peak or surge. The maker's page usually adds the running watts figure; read both before comparing.

Why do two similar listings show different watts?

Different models state different figures. Compare the stated watts on each listing and on each maker's page, and treat a missing figure as not stated by the seller.

What does whole house mean on a listing?

It is the seller's phrase for a standby-type listing. Whether the unit actually runs the whole house depends on the maker's stated figures and the electrician's review of the home's wiring.

Should I read TDEM and Texas Ready before buying?

Yes. Those pages cover household preparedness for all hazards in Texas; they do not recommend a generator size. Use them to plan, then shop by stated listing details.

Recent updates

  • : First published.

Sources

Related buying guides